Carrot Doodle Pea

grapefruitBack in November, I had a rush of inspiration brought on by the combination of NaNoWriMo-related sleep deprivation, watching The Yellow Ticket  (with Pola Negri hiding her identity in order to fulfill her dream of attending medical school), and drinking coffee late at night. The best (and admittedly sometimes the worst) ideas come after 2 a.m. when your poor, addled brain starts spewing nonsense. Coffee just helps you get there while adding to that ‘addled’ feeling.

At that moment, I wanted to make everything. I even wrote a blog post about it.

One of the things on my list was to draw everything I eat. I forgot about it for a while because it just seemed impractical. Snapping a picture is one thing, but drawing takes longer, and if there is a steaming slice of quiche in front of me, I want to stuff it in my face now. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve burned the roof of my mouth. Then there are those rushed meals, when I race home for lunch, drink a bowl of soup and race out again to run errands before going back to work. Breakfast is sometimes just as bad, and it’s my favorite meal of the day. The more I thought about it, slowing down started to feel like a good idea.

I don’t have the desire to document every single thing I eat, but food is special, and it should be honored in some way. So I started this project, Carrot Doodle Pea, to slow down and savor more of the meals I make and eat. Most of them will be simple foods, like this grapefruit which is my first post, but that’s what makes them special. Enjoy!

On a side note, I like to think of myself as an adventurous eater (although I’m also vegetarian, which rules out most of the scarier dishes), and if you have any food recommendations/favorite recipes, I’d love to hear them.

2 thoughts on “Carrot Doodle Pea

Leave a comment