Crazy

Six days ago, I decided I was going to write a novel in less than a month. Crazy, yes, but it’s the good kind of crazy–the kind of crazy that answers the question, “Why?” with “Why not?”

And seriously, why not? Because really, we all need a little dose of crazy sometimes.

November is National Novel Writing Month. The challenge: write 50,000 words in 30 days. Crazy? Yes, especially if you work or study full-time. Impossible? No.

It doesn’t even matter whether or not you get to 50K. There is certainly a chance that I won’t, since I started a few days after the beginning of November and write mainly during my lunch break and for a little while before I go to sleep. I’m okay with that. Since starting this project, I’ve been filled with an intense creative energy, and I feel I can accomplish anything. All I want to do is to make, to create–anything, everything.   I’m writing this at 1:30 AM, and I’m the kind of person who goes to bed at 1o:30 PM most nights. I had coffee today for the first time in months. I’m breaking habit, and it feels so liberating. I want to make collages, write in Spanish for a change, draw everything I eat, smear charcoal into a page with my fingertips, make a beautiful cake, run early in the morning before the stars vanish, and have a huge stack of pancakes afterward. Who says I have to act like a responsible adult? I’m 22 years old. I am allowed to dream, and to dream in every shade of the rainbow.

I can be crazy. I should be crazy. Everyone should be. At least a little bit.

So be crazy, and write a novel. Why not?

One thought on “Crazy

  1. Pingback: Carrot Doodle Pea | A Line, And Then...

Leave a comment